Elgar: The Dream of Gerontius

Join LCS, The Bromley Boy Singers, Forest Philharmonic Orchestra, and three outstanding soloists for a performance of Elgar’s masterpiece, The Dream of Gerontius. This tale of a dying man’s journey to the afterlife includes encounters with angels and demons, a thunderous glimpse of God and a tranquil bathe in the lake of Purgatory.

The subject matter gave Elgar the scope to produce some of his most inspirational and colourful music, in turns dramatic, poignant and sublimely peaceful, culminating in a magical finale as the voice of an angel floats over the double choir and boy treble ‘angelicals’.

Soprano: Janet Shell
Tenor: Peter Davoren
Baritone: David Stout
Trebles: The Bromley Boy Singers
Orchestra: Forest Philharmonic Orchestra
Organ: James Orford
Conductor: Dan Ludford-Thomas

– – –

The ticket price includes a free programme which you can access by clicking here.

– – –

Spotify User?

If you’re a Spotify user and unfamiliar with any of the pieces we are performing, here is a playlist of a professional recordings to listen to:

 Increase text size  Decrease text size